Mayor & City Council

Government Structure

The City of Waite Park operates as a statutory plan A city.  This is a weak-mayor form of government with five members elected at-large including the mayor and four council members.  All members including the mayor have equal voting power and its governing authority is derived by the State Legislature.  Under this form of government, the council appoints a city administrator-clerk-treasurer to oversee the operations of the City.  

The Council also has the authority to create departments and advisory boards and appoint officers, employees, and agents for the City to conduct city affairs; it has the ability to prescribe the duties, compensation, and employment conditions for its employees; it sets the annual tax levy, and exercises full authority over the financial affairs of the City; it has the authority to own and operate any waterworks, gas, light. power, or heat plant; purchase gas, electricity, water or heat for wholesale prices and resell it to local consumers; it has the authority to provide parks, parkways, recreational facilities and a park board; it can designate a legal newspaper; and has the ability to prosecute people who violate ordinances.  

Council members are elected to four year terms and the mayor is elected to a two year term.


Mayor - 2 year term

Rick Miller

Term:  January 1, 2023 - December 31, 2024



Council members - 4 year terms

Mike Linquist

Term:  January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2024



Term:  January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2024


Term:  January 1, 2023 - December 31, 2026

Frank Theisen

Term:  January 1, 2023 - December 31, 2026